Asian Arts & Culture Program

New Asia Cinema

Wednesdays at 7:30 PM Flavin Theater School of Management, UMass           
September- December

Film listing for Department of Communication COMM 296F Film Festival Colloquium course

New Asia Cinema/Arab Cinema Panorama presents: Contemporary Trailblazers--Arab and Asian Women Filmmakers

This 12th annual film series points us in fresh cinematic directions with a diverse array of contemporary films directed by women of Arab and Asian heritage. These films collectively navigate across genres; and they depict strong characters with complexly intersectional identities, at crossroads in their lives.  Connecting with timely issues related to immigration, a number of these films also engage with immigrant and refugee experiences, diaspora and exile, in-between spaces, and intra-country and international journeys.
 
Curated by Professor Anne Ciecko, UMass Department of Communication this series is coordinated with UMass courses, including Comm 296F, film festival colloquium and in partnership with the UMass Asian Arts and Culture Program.

Wednesday, September 14-Where Do We Go Now
Wednesday, September 21-From Two Worlds as a Keepsake
Wednesday, September 28-Song of Lahore
Monday, October 3-Alternate Event: Author Lecture,  Barbara Abdeni Massad, Soup for Syria, Bowker Auditorium 7 p.m. 
Wednesday, October 5-When I Saw You
Wednesday, October 12-Forgetting Vietnam
Wednesday, October 19-Suddenly It's Magic
Wednesday, October 26-The World Before Her
Wednesday, November 2-May in the Summer-POSTPONED until NOVEMBER  30   No screening on November 2!
Wednesday, November 9-TBD 

JUST ANNOUNCED!  BONUS SCREENING
Wednesday, December 7-Haifaa Al Mansour’s WADJDA